Cape

FROM CAPE TO HAT … CAPE TO THE WIND!

By Laurence Daigneault-Desrosiers

The cape, in its various forms, is one of the most common clothes of the history and it is a unavoidable piece of the medieval costume.

Whether it is mante, chasuble, rainfall or even planet, the cape is a loose sleeveless garment, variable in length. Initially simple protection against cold and weather, the cape went from a very simple cut to a complex piece when it became a clerical costume or clerical uniform.

Because of its simple form and its great utility, the cape was already worn by the Greeks and the Romans, but its origin is even more distant. In the Middle Ages, it was very common, but was not the only means of protect themselves from the cold. The robes or tunics were superimposed one upon the other. To travel, on the other hand, the use of the cape was in order.

The cape was not the garment of a single social class. Some models of capes, or some ways of draping them, may have been linked to social ranks, but between antiquity and the end of the Middle Ages, the various capes, long or short, were really part of the popular costume of both sexes.

The cape forms

In addition to varying length from the ankles to the shoulders, the capes existed in various forms. The pallium, a cape inherited from the Romans, was rectangular in shape, while others were conceived from a circle, from the round cape to the semi-circular cape, such as the chasuble and the screed. To these capes, which were initially very simple and often without seams, were added various elements such as pleating at the collar to give more amplitude at the level of the shoulders, or vertical openings to pass the hands out of the cape.

The cape later became oval, so as to minimize the number of folds that the arms had to bear. The front also could be shorter in order to be less bulky. This cloak of cloth, which fell to the feet, was above all a traveling garment. It was in the sixth century that it was adopted as a liturgical garment and changed form until the eighteenth century when it came to its definitive form, trapezoidal and trimmed with stripes in several places and became an exclusively clerical costume.

The semi-circular cape appeared in the Gothic period and became essential to the masculine costume. It was usually lined with a contrasting color or fur. The women’s capes, almost identical to those of men, were sometimes longer at the back to form a train.

What made the cape an elegant garment was less the form of the garment than the way of wearing it.

Cape-et-chapeauCape3
Cape2

 

 

 

 

 

 

The hood

At first, several capes did not have a cap as such, but could be worn over the head without special stitching or cutting because they did not have a notch for the cervix. This created various folds and gave the equivalent of a hood. The hoods then took on all sorts of shapes, some even being square.

The chasuble

The chasuble, inherited from antiquity, was originally a civilian garment. It was of perfectly round shape with a hole in the center to pass the head. It included, on occasion, a hood, often long and pointed. As it was not pierced to pass the arms, the sides of the circle were raised on the arms in multiple lateral folds. For practical reasons, the shape was then gradually modified by shortening, for example, the sides of the circle.

Interestingly, the term chasuble comes from the popular Latin “casabula”, derived from “casula” which means “maisonnette”. The English translation of cloak, “cloak”, comes from a variation in popular language of the French word cloche, “cloke”, alluding to the form of the garment when worn.

The screed

The cape was very similar to the chasuble by its cut: it was a round cape with the difference that it was split at the front or on the right side to allow more movement to the arms. This variant of the cape, especially that split on the side, was, in theory, reserved for the upper middle class. It always contained a hood and it was called rainfall, since it protected … from the rain. It was also a garment used since antiquity. Like the chasuble, it became part of the clerical costume after the Romanesque period. It remained in use as a civil mantle and, with some modifications, persisted even in the centuries following the Middle Ages.

Materials and Decorations

The cape could be made of cloth, woolen wool, animal skins (soft leather or fur) and even velvet and fine silk imported from the East, towards the end of the Middle Ages. The most common colors of the capes were red, blue and green, except for the clerical costumes, where the cape became mainly purple or black.

The capes were rarely embroidered because of their size, but they were occasionally decorated with trimmings on the edges. Only a few very wealthy people in the Gothic period decorated the half front of their semi-circular cape (the opening on the side) of an immense embroidery work.

To attach the cape

There were various ways of attaching the capes. The least complex way was to simply tie the two sides of the cape together. It was difficult, however, with thicker stuffs, and some cape models did not lend themselves to it. Some capes were then held only by a cord or a strip of cloth passing through a metal ring or a loop. It was necessary to hold it back with the hand because of the weight of the cape which carried it too far back. Others, richer, were held by staples or a fibula, ancestor of the button, which served to maintain the various clothes draped since antiquity. Towards the very end of the Middle Ages, a series of buttons were begun to close the cloak.

How the cape became hat

Cape-et-chapeau2 Cape-et-chapeau4 Cape-et-chapeau3 Cape-et-chapeau5Several models of short capes were as much worn by men as by women in the Middle Ages. By the end of the Middle Ages, these capes, of varying shapes, but almost always endowed with a hood, became a fashion item and were then subject to all sorts of purely aesthetic changes. Around the twelfth century, the aumusse, a short cape with a long hood very adjusted to the neck and head, was very popular. It protected from rain and cold, but became bulky in warmer weather. So, rather than withdrawing it, some had the idea to raise it and use the body of the cape to tie it around the head in a strange headgear. The fashion for the cape-hat was born!

This article was originally published in the magazine Oriflamme Volume 2 in october 2000.

All rights reserved ©

Cape4Bibliography

A thousand years of French costumes 950-1950, Berlange, Gérard Klopp Publisher, 1991, 245 p.

Dictionnairie and lexicography – around a dictionary: the treasury of the French language, volume V, Paris, Didier Érudition, 1990, p.135.

BOUCHER, François, History of costume in the West from antiquity to the present, Paris, Flammarion, 1965, 464 p.

CONTINI, Mila, 5000 years of elegance from Egyptian Antiquity to the present, Paris, Hachette, 1965, 320 p.

GUILLEMARD, Colette, The Words of Costume, Paris, Belin, 1991, 349 p.

KGHLER, Carl, A History of Costume, New York, Dover Publications, 1963, 464 p.

KYBALOVÀ, L., HERBENOVÀ, O., LAMAROVÀ, M., Encyclopedia illustrated costume and fashion, Paris, Grund, 1980, 600 p.

MARIE, D., History of costume, Lausanne, Edita, 1996, 336 p.

SAMAT, Maguelonne Toussaint, Technical and moral history of clothing, Paris, Bordas, 1990,470

0 205

Cape

DE LA CAPE AU CHAPEAU … CAPE AU VENT !

By Laurence Daigneault-Desrosiers

La cape, sous ses diverses formes, est un des vêtements les plus communs de l’histoire et c’est un morceau incontournable du costume médiéval.
Qu’elle se nomme mante, chasuble, pluviale ou même planète, la cape est un vêtement ample sans manches, de longueur variable, D’abord simple protection contre le froid et les intempéries, la cape passa d’une coupe très simple à un morceau complexe lorsqu’elle devint costume d’apparat ou uniforme clérical.

À cause de sa forme simple et de sa très grande utilité, la cape était déjà portée par les Grecs et les Romains, mais son origine est encore plus lointaine, Au Moyen Âge, elle était très courante, mais ne constituait pas le seul moyen de se protéger du froid. On superposait volontiers les robes ou tuniques les unes par dessus les autres. Pour voyager, par contre, l’utilisation de la cape était de mise.

La cape n’était pas le vêtement d’une seule classe sociale. Certains modèles de capes, ou certaines façons de la draper, ont pu être liés à des rangs sociaux, mais entre l’Antiquité et la fin du Moyen Âge, les diverses capes, longues ou courtes, faisaient vraiment partie du costume populaire des deux sexes.

Les formes de cape

En plus de varier en longueur des chevilles aux épaules, les capes existaient sous diverses formes. Le pallium, cape héritée des Romains, était de forme rectangulaire alors que d’autres étaient conçues à partir d’un cercle, de la cape ronde à la cape semi-circulaire, telles la chasuble et la chape. À ces capes d’abord de forme très simple et souvent sans coutures, s’ajoutèrent divers éléments comme le plissage au col pour donner plus d’ampleur au niveau des épaules, ou encore les ouvertures verticales pour passer les mains hors de la cape.

La cape devint plus tard ovale, de façon à minimiser le nombre de plis que les bras avaient à supporter. Le devant aussi pouvait être plus court afin d’être moins encombrant. Ce manteau d’étoffe, qui tombait jusqu’aux pieds, était avant tout un vêtement de voyage. C’est au VIe siècle qu’elle fut adoptée comme vêtement liturgique et changea de forme jusqu’au XVIIIe siècle ou elle en arriva à sa forme définitive, trapézoïdale et garnie de galons en plusieurs endroits et devint un costume exclusivement clérical.

La cape semi-circulaire apparut à l’époque gothique et devint essentielle au costume masculin. Elle était généralement doublée d’une couleur contrastante ou de fourrure. Les capes des femmes, presque identiques à celles des hommes, étaient parfois plus longues à l’arrière afin de former une traîne.

Ce qui faisait de la cape un vêtement élégant était moins la forme du vêtement que la façon de le porter.

Cape2 Cape3 Cape-et-chapeau

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le capuchon

Au début, plusieurs capes ne comportaient pas de capuchon en tant que tel, mais pouvaient être portées par dessus la tête sans couture ni découpage particuliers, car elles ne comportaient pas d’échancrure pour le col. Cela créait divers plis et donnait l’équivalent d’un capuchon. Les capuchons prirent ensuite toutes sortes de formes, certains étant même carrés.

La chasuble

La chasuble, héritée de l’Antiquité, était à l’origine un vêtement civil. Elle était de forme parfaitement ronde avec un trou au centre pour y passer la tête. Elle comportait, à l’occasion, un capuchon, souvent long et pointu. Comme elle n’était pas trouée pour y passer les bras, les côtés du cercle étaient remontés sur les bras en de multiples plis latéraux. Pour des raisons pratiques, la forme en fut alors peu à peu modifiée en raccourcissant, par exemple, les côtés du cercle.

Fait intéressant, le terme chasuble vient du latin populaire «casabula», dérivé de «casula» qui signifie «maisonnette». La traduction anglaise de cape, «cloak», provient quand à elle d’une variation en langage populaire du mot français cloche, «cloke», faisant allusion à la forme du vêtement lorsqu’il est porté.

La chape

La chape était très semblable à la chasuble par sa coupe : c’était une cape de forme ronde à la différence qu’elle était fendue à l’avant ou sur le côté droit afin de permettre plus de mouvements aux bras. Cette variante de la cape, surtout celle fendue sur le côté, était, en théorie, réservée à la haute bourgeoisie. Elle comportait toujours un capuchon et on l’appelait pluviale, puisqu’elle protégeait… de la pluie. C’était également un vêtement utilisé depuis l’Antiquité. Tout comme la chasuble, elle devint une partie du costume clérical après l’époque romane. Elle resta en usage comme manteau civil et, avec quelques modifications, persista même dans les siècles suivants le Moyen Âge.

Matériaux et décorations

La cape pouvait être faite d’étoffe, de laine tissée, de peaux de bêtes (cuir souple ou fourrure) et même de velours et de soie fine importée d’Orient, vers la fin du Moyen Âge. Les couleurs les plus courantes des capes étaient le rouge, le bleu et le vert, sauf pour les costumes cléricaux, où la cape devint surtout pourpre ou noire.

On brodait rarement les capes à cause de leur ampleur, mais elles étaient à l’occasion décorées de passementerie sur les rebords. Seuls quelques gens très fortunés, à l’époque gothique, décoraient la moitié avant de leur cape semi-circulaire (l’ouverture se trouvant sur le côté) d’un immense ouvrage de broderie.

Pour attacher la cape

Il existait diverses façons d’attacher les capes. La façon la moins complexe était de nouer tout simplement les deux côtés de la cape l’un à l’autre. C’était toutefois difficile avec des étoffes plus épaisses, et quelques modèles de cape s’y prêtaient mal. Certaines capes n’étaient alors retenues que par une cordelière ou par une bande d’étoffe passant par un anneau métallique ou une ganse. Il fallait la retenir de la main à cause du poids de la cape qui l’entraînait trop vers l’arrière. D’autres, plus riches, étaient maintenues par des agrafes ou encore par une fibule, ancêtre du bouton, qui servait à maintenir les divers vêtements drapés depuis l’Antiquité. Vers la toute fin du Moyen Âge, on commença à poser une série de boutons pour fermer la cape.

Comment la cape devint chapeau

Cape-et-chapeau2 Cape-et-chapeau4Cape-et-chapeau3
Cape-et-chapeau5

Plusieurs modèles de capes courtes étaient autant portés par les hommes que par les femmes au Moyen Âge. Ces capes de formes très variables, mais presque toujours munies d’un capuchon, devinrent, vers la fin du Moyen Âge, un article de mode et furent alors sujettes à toutes sortes de modifications d’ordre purement esthétique. Aux environs du XIIe siècle, l’aumusse, une cape courte à long capuchon très ajustée au cou et à la tête, était très populaire. Elle protégeait de la pluie et du froid, mais devenait encombrante par temps plus clément. Alors, plutôt que de la retirer, certains ont eu l’idée de la relever et de se servir du corps de la cape pour la nouer autour de la tête en un étrange couvre-chef. La mode du chapeau-cape était née!

Cet article a été publié initialement dans le magazine Oriflamme Volume 2 en octobre 2000.

Tous droits réservés ©

Cape4

Bibliographie

Mille ans de costumes français 950-1950, Berlange, Gérard Klopp Editeur, 1991, 245 p.

Dictionnairique et lexicographie – autour d’un dictionnaire : le trésor de la langue française, tome V, Paris, Didier Érudition, 1990, p.135.

BOUCHER, François, Histoire du costume en Occident de l’Antiquité à nos jours, Paris, Flammarion, 1965, 464 p.

CONTINI, Mila, 5000 ans d’élégance de l’Antiquité égyptienne à nos jours, Paris, Hachette, 1965,  320 p.

GUILLEMARD, Colette, Les Mots du costume, Paris, Belin, 1991, 349 p.

KGHLER, Carl, A History of Costume, New York, Dover Publications, 1963, 464 p.

KYBALOVÀ, L., HERBENOVÀ, O., LAMAROVÀ, M., Encyclopédie illustrée du costume et de la mode, Paris, Grund, 1980, 600 p.

MARIE, D., Histoire du costume, Lausane, Edita, 1996, 336 p.

SAMAT, Maguelonne Toussaint, Histoire technique & morale du vêtement, Paris, Bordas, 1990,470 p.

0 205