Epic6

Epic Armoury Unlimited: A bold business model

Par Vanessa Cotineau

Patrick Penning created the North American division of Epic Armory in 2010. Previously a blacksmith and owner of Fantasy Armor for 15 years, the saturation of the leather craft market led him to reevaluate his options. His experience in the Live Action Role Play (LARP) has made it clear that there is a gap in the industry. Epic Armoury Canada (then Unlimited) has earned his place against all odds, blooming for the past six years, with its eyes on the future of its business, but also that of the LARP community in Quebec, Canada, and even in the United States.

Epic5

 

How did Epic Armory begin in Canada?

We owned a LARP and for the purpose of self-financing, we decided to introduce products of the Epic Armoury brand, whose head office is located in Denmark. At the Montreal Medieval Fair, we quickly realized that there was a marked lack of quality in the industry at these prices. We sold $ 10,000 worth of merchandise in a day and a half, opening our stand on Sunday morning with only 2 swords to sell. We tripled the size of our booth the following year, but still had a long line of buyers. Our sales were so important that our supplier asked us to become the official seller of Epic Armory in North America.

Epic2

 

What is the place of Epic Armoury Unlimited in the LARP industry in Quebec?

There were two types of equipment previously: home-made – players from raw materials – and handcrafted, custom-made or high-end manufactures. There was no middle ground. While it could cost nearly $ 1,000 to a new player to equip himself, Epic Armoury can now do it for less than $ 500. In a sense, we have made LARP more accessible.

However, in Quebec, customers are loyal. To compete against Quebec companies, we worked hard to build loyalty to our brand, to explain the appeal of our products without denigrating those of the competitors. We are trying to put emphasis on a notion that is lost in today’s retail business: customer service. From this point of view, we also offer guarantees, not in terms of years, but depending on how the product is maintained by the buyer, should it come back to us two years later.

We have had surprising growth. There has been a tremendous enthusiasm in the LARP industry over the past few years. We arrived at the right time, with the right product, in order to bear this growth that we barely provide.

Epic3

 

What were the reactions to your arrival?

At first, the craftsmen had fears, but they quickly realized that we do not produce the same products and that we are not targeting the same type of customer. Our type of customer is one who seeks an excellent value for money. Custom orders remain the prerogative of craftsmen. We can therefore equip ourselves with a base in our home and then, depending on the evolution of his budget and his involvement in the world of LARP, turn to tailor-made confections.

During the first two years, we put the emphasis on explaining our concept to our Quebec customers. We were seen as a Walmart, mainly because our products are made outside of Quebec. But nowadays, what is not? Even the raw materials of craftsmen come from elsewhere. So we were told, “Yes, but you do not bring labor to Quebec.” But this is not true. We provide work for the shops that keep our products, their employees and we pay a lot of import taxes. We bring in money, but in another way, just like the shops that increasing their sales can hire more workers. Our margin of profit is very low compared to sales in stores, since Epic Armoury Unlimited is above all a distributor based on sales volume.

Distributing in stores is the way we have chosen. Creating a shop only based on Epic Armory products is not ideal. Although it may seem weird, having our products in addition to those of other craftsmen in a same shop enhances sales for all. The diversity and novelty of other craftsmen are necessary for the prosperity of the industry and the growth of the community.

Epic4

 

What is your vision for Epic Armoury Unlimited?

Epic Armoury goes on the road! In collaboration with a partner company, Dragon Crypt, we are going to tour the fairs in the United States. We are going there to develop a new market. Their clientele is roughly a hundred times that of Quebec, but they need to be informed about our products and what we can bring to their activities. The New York Fair, for example, has more than 250,000 visitors, but no foam swords are sold, other than wooden swords. LARP in the USA pay less attention to the concept of decorum, and organizations have an irrational fear of latex products because of the risk of deadly allergies, yet minimal. They will accept natural rubber masks or prostheses, but prohibit latex weapons, although less risky in this regard.

For my part, I am going to visit the stores in Quebec, but also across Canada, to know their needs and to advise them. We were able to increase Imaginaire’s store sales by almost 40% in one year by providing them with sets, changing their display and training their salespeople to our products and warranties.

Another project is the discussion forum I created for the classification and regulation of weapons. By classifying the weapons according to their characteristics – length, construction, degree of security, etc. – LARPs would be better able to identify those that are acceptable or not in their events. At present, each LARP has its own standards, which is not obvious to suppliers. The manufacturers do not all have the same criteria of creation, and the customers do not know what to buy in relation to the type of LARP. It is not a question of highlighting Epic Armoury and excluding the others, but of setting up a tool beneficial to all.

Epic

0 874

Epic6

Epic Armoury Illimité : Un modèle d’affaire audacieux

Par Vanessa Cotineau

Patrick Penning a créé la division nord-américaine de Epic Armoury en 2010. Auparavant forgeron et propriétaire de la compagnie Fantasy Armor pendant 15 ans, la saturation du marché de l’artisanat du cuir l’a amené à réévaluer ses options. Son expérience dans l’univers des jeux grandeur nature (GN) lui a permis de constater qu’il y avait un vide à combler dans l’industrie. Epic Armoury Canada (puis Illimité) s’y est creusé une place contre vents et marées, fleurissant pendant ces six dernières années, les yeux tournés vers l’avenir de son entreprise, mais aussi celui de la communauté GN au Québec, au Canada, et même aux États-Unis.

Epic5

 

Comment a débuté l’entreprise Epic Armoury au Canada?

Nous étions propriétaire d’un GN et dans un but d’autofinancement, nous avons décidé d’introduire des produits de la marque Epic Armoury, dont le siège social est situé au Danemark. Au Salon de la Passion Médiévale, nous avons vite constaté qu’il y avait dans l’industrie, une absence marquée de ce niveau de qualité de produit, à ces prix-là. Nous avons vendu pour 10 000$ de marchandise en un jour et demi, ouvrant notre kiosque le dimanche matin avec seulement 2 épées à vendre. Nous avons triplé la grandeur de notre kiosque l’année suivante, mais avions tout de même une longue file d’acheteurs. Nos ventes ont été si importantes que notre fournisseur nous a demandé de devenir le vendeur officiel d’Epic Armoury en Amérique du Nord.

Epic2

 

Quelle est la place de Epic Armoury Illimité dans l’industrie du GN au Québec ?

Il y avait deux types d’équipements auparavant : les fabrications à la maison – de joueurs à partir de matériaux bruts – et les fabrications artisanales, faites sur mesure ou haut de gamme. Il n’y avait pas de juste milieu. Alors que cela pouvait coûter près de 1000$ à un nouveau joueur pour s’équiper en neuf, chez Epic Armoury peut maintenant le faire pour moins de 500$. Nous avons donc, dans un sens, rendu le GN plus accessible.

Cependant, au Québec, les clients sont loyaux. Pour rivaliser contre les compagnies québécoises, nous avons travaillé fort pour fidéliser les gens sur notre marque, d’expliquer l’attrait de nos produits sans dénigrer ceux des compétiteurs. Nous essayons de mettre l’emphase sur une notion qui se perd dans le commerce de détail d’aujourd’hui : le service à la clientèle. Dans cette optique, nous offrons également des garanties, non pas en termes d’années, mais en fonction de la manière dont le produit est entretenu par l’acheteur, doit-il nous revenir deux ans plus tard.

Nous avons eu une croissance surprenante. Il existe un énorme engouement dans l’industrie du GN depuis quelques années. Nous sommes arrivés au bon moment, avec le bon produit, afin de supporter cette croissance que nous fournissons à peine.

Epic3

 

Quelles ont été les réactions face à votre arrivée ?

Au début, les artisans avaient des craintes, mais ils ont vite réalisé que nous ne produisons pas les mêmes produits et que nous ne visons pas le même type de client. Notre type de client est celui qui cherche un excellent rapport qualité-prix. Les commandes personnalisées demeurent l’apanage des artisans. On peut donc s’équiper de base chez nous puis, selon l’évolution de son budget et de son implication dans l’univers du GN, se tourner vers les confections sur mesure.

Pendant les deux premières années, nous avons mis l’emphase sur le fait d’expliquer notre concept à nos clients québécois. On nous voyait comme un Walmart, principalement parce que nos produits sont fabriqués à l’extérieur du Québec. Mais de nos jours, qu’est-ce qui ne l’est pas? Même les matériaux bruts des artisans proviennent d’ailleurs. Alors, on nous disait : « Oui, mais vous n’apportez pas de main-d’œuvre au Québec ». C’est pourtant faux. Nous faisons travailler les boutiques qui tiennent nos produits, leurs employés, nous payons d’importantes taxes d’importation. Nous rapportons de l’argent, mais d’une autre façon, tout comme les boutiques qui en augmentant leurs ventes peuvent engager plus. Notre marge de profit est très basse en comparaison des ventes en boutiques, puisque Epic Armoury Illimité est avant tout un distributeur basé sur le volume de vente.

Distribuer dans les magasins, c’est la voie que nous avons choisie. Créer une boutique uniquement basée sur les produits Epic Armoury n’est pas l’idéal. Bien que cela puisse sembler bizarre, d’avoir de nos produits, en plus de ceux d’autres artisans dans une même boutique améliore les ventes de tous. La diversité et la nouveauté qu’apportent les autres artisans sont nécessaires à faire prospérer l’industrie et faire croître la communauté.

Epic4

 

Quelle est votre vision d’avenir pour Epic Armoury Illimité ?

Epic Armoury part sur la route ! En collaboration avec une compagnie partenaire, Dragon Crypt, nous allons faire la tournée des foires aux États-Unis. Nous y allons pour développer un nouveau marché. Leur clientèle est à peu près cent fois supérieure à celle du Québec, mais ils ont besoin d’être informés sur nos produits et ce que nous pouvons apporter à leurs activités. La foire de New-York, par exemple, a plus de 250 000 visiteurs, mais on n’y vend aucune épée en mousse, que des épées en bois. Les GN américains accordent moins d’importance à la notion de décorum, sans compter que les organisations ont une peur irrationnelle des produits en latex à cause du risque d’allergies mortelles, pourtant minime. Elles vont accepter les masques ou prothèses en caoutchouc naturel, mais interdire les armes en latex, pourtant moins risquées à cet égard.

Pour ma part, je vais rendre visite aux boutiques au Québec, mais aussi à travers le Canada, afin de connaître leurs besoins et les conseiller. Nous avons réussi à augmenter les ventes de la boutique Imaginaire de près de 40% en un an en leur fournissant des décors, en modifiant leur étalage et en formant leurs vendeurs à nos produits et garanties.

Un autre projet est le forum de discussion que j’ai créé pour la classification et la régularisation des armes. En classant les armes en fonction de leurs caractéristiques – longueur, confection, degré de sécurité, etc. – les GN seraient mieux en mesure d’identifier celles qui sont acceptables ou non dans leurs événements. En ce moment, chaque GN a ses propres normes, ce qui n’est pas évident à respecter pour les fournisseurs. Les fabricants n’ont pas tous les mêmes critères de création, et les clients ne savent plus quoi acheter vis-à-vis le type de GN. Il ne s’agit donc pas de mettre en valeur Epic Armoury et d’exclure les autres, mais de mettre en place un outil bénéfique pour tous.

Epic

0 853