a3876061869_10

A first solo album for Ingried Boussaroque that presents songs from here and from Scotland.

Par Vanessa Cotineau

Inspired by many years of study and travel, Ingried Boussaroque gives us “Islands”, his first album that traces, in songs, his adventures between Scotland and Quebec.

ISLANDS is a story of salt, sand, waves, cries of gulls. It is the journey of a musician from here, from Montreal to the borders of Scotland. An album of Québécois, Gaelic and Nordic songs, accompanied to the kantele, the mandolin and several other strange instruments.

Ingried’s adventure began with the band La Mandragore, which took her on a tour through Iceland, Sweden, Finland, and Denmark. It is in the latter country that she met a Scottish and a Danish woman with whom she start a musical group mixing their three cultures. Ingried then earned a scholarship to study Gaelic singing in the islands of Scotland.

Today, Ingried lives in Scotland, but still travels between the two countries, as for the launch of his album in February. “Islands” is composed of plays discovered in the recordings of archives or through its singing’s teachers. “I make an effort in the choice of texts so that there is a story, that they fit into my concept and that the songs end well,” she adds.

His album is an original way of delivering two island cultures of distinct languages. With songs mixing French, English and Gaelic, Ingried takes the time to explain to the audience the content of the lyrics.

The pieces on the album, which was also released in Scotland, do not require the same explanations out there as in Quebec. This is how Ingrid shares bits of each culture with the other. “It’s called” Islands “because it’s my life here, and on the islands in Scotland,” she explains. According to Ingried, it is a “Scottish album very Montreal”.

0 183

a3876061869_10

Un premier album solo pour Ingried Boussaroque qui présente des chants d’ici et d’Écosse.

Par Vanessa Cotineau

Inspirée par de nombreuses années d’études et de voyages, Ingried Boussaroque nous livre « Islands », son premier album qui trace, en chansons, ses aventures entre l’Écosse et le Québec.

ISLANDS, c’est une histoire au goût de sel, de sable, de vagues, de cris de goélands. C’est le trajet d’une musicienne d’ici, de Montréal aux confins de l’Écosse. Un album de chants québécois, gaéliques et nordiques, accompagnés au kantele, à la mandoline et plusieurs autres instruments étranges.

L’aventure d’Ingried a débuté avec le groupe La Mandragore, qui l’a emmenée dans une tournée à travers l’Islande, la Suède, la Finlande, et le Danemark. C’est dans ce dernier pays qu’elle a fait la connaissance d’un Écossais et d’une Danoise avec qui elle a parti un groupe musical mélangeant leurs trois cultures. Ingried s’est ensuite mérité une bourse pour partir étudier le chant gaélique dans les îles d’Écosse.

Aujourd’hui, Ingried vit en Écosse, mais voyage toujours entre les deux pays, comme pour le lancement de son album en février. « Islands » est constitué de pièces découvertes dans les enregistrements d’archives ou par l’entremise de ses professeurs de chant. « Je fais un effort dans le choix des textes pour qu’il y ait une histoire, qu’ils s’intègrent dans mon concept et que les chansons se terminent bien », ajoute-t-elle.

Son album est une manière originale de livrer deux cultures insulaires de langues distinctes. Avec des chansons où se mélangent le français, l’anglais et le gaélique, Ingried prend le temps d’expliquer au public le contenu des paroles.

Les pièces de l’album, qui a aussi été lancé en Écosse, ne requièrent pas les mêmes explications là-bas qu’au Québec. C’est ainsi qu’Ingried partage des bouts de chaque culture avec l’autre. « Cela s’appelle « Islands » parce que c’est ma vie ici, et sur les îles en Écosse », explique-t-elle. Selon Ingried, il s’agit d’un « album de musique écossaise très montréalais ».

0 174